The Welfare Branch is made up of the Divisions of Family Allowances and Old Age Security, Old Age Assistance, and Blind and Disabled Persons Allowances. The Department is also responsible for federal civil defence planning, with the Civil Defence Co-ordinator reporting to both Deputy Ministers. The Administration Branch includes divisions where activities cover both health and welfare fields, such as research, information, legal and library services, as well as administrative, personnel and purchasing and supply services.

National Library.—The National Library Act, proclaimed Jan. 1, 1953, brought the National Library into being. Though at an early stage of organization, the Library publishes *Canadiana*—a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada—and work is well advanced on a national union catalogue to serve as a key to the contents of all important libraries in Canada. The National Librarian reports to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

National Museum of Canada.—The National Museum illustrates the natural history of Canada—its geology, biology and anthropology. It was formerly part of the Geological Survey, founded in 1842, but was separated from it in 1920, and is now part of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Museum carries out field investigations in botany, zoology, vertebrate palæontology, archæology and ethnology including studies of folk-lore and folk-songs, publishes the results of its research and carries out an extensive educational program.

**Department of National Revenue.**—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of National Revenue and under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927 the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duty, taxes and revenues and other services by ports and outports as well as for the assessment and collection of income taxes and succession duties.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Income Tax Appeal Board and also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

**Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.**—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to Administration Services, which performs auxiliary functions, the Department is divided into five branches: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government, and has charge of the National Museum of Canada; the Engineering and Water Resources Branch is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interests in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration and Lands Branch is responsible for the administration of various Federal Acts, Territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in these Territories, and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain lands and mineral rights in the provinces vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; the Forestry Branch conducts investigations in the protection and utilization of the forest resources of Canada, maintains forest experiment stations and forest products laboratories and administers federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Forestry Act; and the Canadia Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging tourist travel from abroad and interprovincial travel in Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, the Northwest Territories Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Board on Wildlife Protection act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in these fields. The Deputy Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories.

**Post Office Department.**—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, postal accommodation, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.

**Public Archives.**—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 222) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed upon official records of the Government and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs.